Australia-DVD-Rental-Guide.com
 
Quickflix Ratings:
   
  Value Value Rating
  Design Design Rating
  Service Service Rating
     
 

Quickflix DVD Rental

 

.Australia's all round top choice for service, choice, speed of delivery, and value for money

Visit Quickflix Site


 
All Other Quickflix DVD Rental Customer Comments
 

Simon, 18 April, 2010

Hopeless service & website. Couldn't get the security padlock on several browsers to work and customer service not helpful. Also they don't take debit cards or paypal!! Move out of the 90's people.....

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Vicki from Newcastle, 22 January, 2010

I am a big DVD fan so I have been with Quickflix and now with BigPond. BigPond is better value, but Quickflix was far better customer service. I have had a problem with BigPond for about 5 months where they were not sending me from the top of my Q so I never really knew what I was getting each week. They just didn't seem to know what the problem was - and certainly not how to fix it. At this stage I am seriously considering going back to Quickflix.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Bazza from Sydney, 2 October 2009

although the quality of the dvd's are in real good condition you never ever get the dvd's you really want so going to the dvd store is easier. plus the quality of the website is good but from time to time you get problems with the website as it wont show you any dvd's available for rent. as for the plans that are available they don't appear to be as good as the other online dvd stores considering you don't get the dvd's you really want.
So i think the good old video store is a much better option!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Shannon from Perth, 29 August 2009

I subscribed to Quickflix over Bigpond mainly due to this review, and after a few weeks have found the service to be excellent. The dvds keep coming and I keep adding to my queue. How I can think of 100 films to adds even though I watch a couple each week is beyond me, but I'm looking at new genres and films I'd never have thought of before. The recommendations are especially good (if you like this you'll like that stuff), so much better and less fuss than a rental shop, and cheaper as well. What's not to like?

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Vicki from Gosford, July 28, 2008

When I first joined Quickflix they were fantastic and I couldn't fault them in any area. The value for money was great, their customer service was wonderful, the movie turnaround was fast and they had a huge range of movies to choose from. However, that has all changed and now I wouldn't even consider recommending Quickflix to anyone.

Their pricing has increased so much so that I find I can get a better deal from my local Blockbuster store, their customer service is ABSOLUTELY NON-EXISTENT, they're slow at sending discs and when you do get them they are always scratched or dirty and greasy and a lot of the time unplayable.

They claim to carefully inspect each DVD upon return and clean it if it is dirty and repair it if it is scratched, however, I know from experience that this simply isn't true. I received a disc that had a huge scratch across it that looked as if someone had taken to it with a screwdriver and it was impossible to play. I returned it for a repacement disc 5 times and 5 times they sent the exact same disc back to me, and this wasn't an isolated incident, it has happened quite a number of times.

Quickflix claims to have an extensive library, however, every single movie that I put on my queue is listed as "Short Wait" or "Long Wait", which means quite simply that you will never have them sent out to you. They may have an extensive library but it seems as though they only have 1 copy of each of each title which makes it impossible to get the discs you really want to see. And just try getting a latest release DVD - by the time you'll get it from Quickflix it will be one of the cheap weekies that you can hire from your local video shop for $1.50.

Overall I would rate Quickflix as utterly pathetic and would advise anyone considering joining them to give them a big miss. Save yourself the the frustration, waste of time and the waste of money.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Jon from Perth, June 23, 2008

Agree quickflix tops bigpond, though its not perfect. I switched and am glad I did though. Customer service is much better, but latest blockbusters can still take a long time to come though.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Danny from Coffs Harbour, 16 June 2009

rediculous. I had a problem with quickflix saying I hadn't returned 6 dvds, phoned them and they said they would launch an investigation with australia post so I continued to receive dvds for approximately one month, then only once I cancelled my membership all of a sudden they didn't have 3 dvds, i had no contact from them or australia post and they have sold my debt (which I dont owe) to a debt collection company. shocking customer service. wouldn't recommend to anyone

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Rienna from Newcastle, 30 May 2009

Have been highly disappointed with the plans available; since we joined the plans have all changed and have recently had ours changed to a reduced qty per month with no other option. This concerns me as the plan that we have moved to is not even available to new subscribers, so i fear i will again be cut back.

Disc quality has been good - a few with scrathes that required returns. The speed in which you get some titles can be very slow - it took 10 months for one disc to arrive and it was placed in our queue when we first joined.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Jim from Adelaide, 23 April 2009

Very pleased with service since we switched from Bigpond. Only complaint is the wait for the newest blockbusters, but we had that with bigpond as well. The one year deal is sweet as well.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Jeremy from Sydney, 20 April 2009

I took out a trial subscription 3 weeks ago and have so far received only 1 DVD. Through the failures of Australia Post and customer service recording my address incorrectly five DVD's have not arrived. I tried two different addresses, one a PO Box-can't get more simple than that. Quickflix solution, blame me and cancel the subscription. They explained that they couldn't keep losing money, little did they realise a better response could have got them at least a 12 month subscription.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Carolyn from Melbourne, 18 February 2009

I had a month free trial with Quickflix which I was willing to convert into an ongoing membership except the 6 DVDs I borrowed in my first month were all scratched, or hung and would not play all the way through. The website design and the customer service are almost faultless and if they just sent you DVDs that actually played I would have no problem with this company at all.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Tanya from rural Victoria, 23 January 2009

I am LOVING quickflix as are my young children. I have dealt with customer service a few times, mainly querying returns and always got prompt responses. I have learnt on this site of the 12 month cheaper option so I am going to follow that up. I only wish that there was more options than my queue and kids queue. I would love to have a queue for each family member as their choices would all be easier to remember which child wanted which movie next etc. I am very happy with quickflix!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Rowan from Perth, 12 December , 2008

I've been a Quickflix member for over 1 year and I'm rating the value at half marks because we have had damaged, scratched or unplayable discs on a regular basis - I'd say about half of the time.
.
Apart from this persisting issue, we live in hope for 'good' discs and actually try to order titles that might be a little less mainstream in the hope that they'll be less played or maybe 'authentic' discs, you never know!!

We love the website and the terrific features that it offers and like most people think that the 'returned' feature only works some of the time but it still beats going to the store and definitely beats late fees.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Dave from Sydney, 22 November, 2008

The concept is good but in reality I've had 2 issues which have pushed me to cancel my subscription. 1) Often the DVD I prioritise in the queue is not available so they send me an alternative, less than ideal (why don't they have more stock) 2) within the space of a week I've received 2 DVDs that skip and hang all over the place making it impossible to finish watching the movie. Seriously frustrating (I tried on 3 different DVD players so I know it's the discs not my hardware). Customer service was friendly but at the end of the day the actual service just doesn't deliver on its promises. Back to my local Video store...

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Rob from Adelaide, 19 November, 2008

Very few complaints about the services. Works well, you mostly get what you want. The only place where it falls down IMHO is new releases, which will take awhile to come through as everybody wants them at once I guess, so down a star on service for that. Otherwise, I'm getting flicks much cheaper than my local video store, so keep it up QuickFlix!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Mike from Perth, 26 October, 2008

I have found the delivery a real problem; I've got the distinct impression that Quickflix actually try to slow you down so that you can't borrow too many dvd's each month. I wrote emails, but they were totally ignored re this. Eventually, I contacted them and was informed that the dvd's are desptached from all over Australia, which I find hard to believe as Quickflix have a distribution centre in Perth.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Paul from Newcastle, 13 August, 2008

I have tried four of the DVD rental sites listed here, and have found QuickFlix to be the best. I've had no problems with them at all [unlike Big Pond Movies, who seem to have a few small problems]. Discs are clean, turn-around is good, excellent service, large range and attention to detail. If I had to pick just one site, this would be it.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Dan, August 8, 2008

Excellent all around service, can't complain about it really, and the one time I had a DVD go missing customer service types were friendly and helped sort it out. Definitely not going back to Bigpond after trying these guys. Sure, I'd wish it was a bit cheaper, but looking at the charts on this site they certainly are competitive, and for the amount of discs I watch, it blows the video store away. I'll never pay a late fee again in my life!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Matt from Melbourne, June 28, 2008

Mostly, I simply could not get the priority DVD's I'd scheduled. As a result, I did not continue with Quickflix. Small amounts of money continued to be withdrawn from my credit card account for months after cancellation, despite me having fulfilled all my contractual obligations. Quickflix denied they were doing this but the bank had categoric proof/objective evidence of it. The customer service representatives had particularly poor customer focus. The calls I made regarding the issue were met with denial (of the existence of a problem), disinterest and outright rudeness. Why would you pay money for a service like this?

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Dean from Adelaide, March 21, 2008

The "notify of return" option is a waste of time. I have send DVD back during the free trial on a Monday (when this option is not available), and I get new DVD's the following Monday. As a paying customer, again I click "returned" on a Monday, and I still receive DVD's on the following Monday. The turn around time is a joke at 1 week. Delivery times between capital cities is 2 days. So if I am sending on Monday, I should receive them on Friday..earlier if the notification system worked.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

James from Brisbane, February 20, 2008

Friendly service and great value for money. Any questions I have are answered within a day and postage never takes longer than two days.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Ron, January 11, 2008

DVD delivery better than Bigpond, and none of the annoying customer service problems. Very glad I switched as I don't have to put up with their poor service anymore ... woo hoo!!!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Karen from Perth, December 11, 2007

DVD delivery has been prompt; notifying them of DVDs that are in the post being returned is great because the next titles are sent out more quickly. Great selection of titles.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Tazza, 10 November, 2007

I am really annoyed with Quickflix. I tried their site a couple of years ago, and it was great - I remember being impressed with how quickly the movies came. Then I cancelled the service because I moved house, and only recently had it started up again. Big disappointment - in one month they only managed to send 2 movies out despite my prompt return of them.
None of my complaints (sent online) were addressed or replied to. $27 a month for two movies is hardly my idea of value for money.

Value Rating Design: Design Rating Service: Service Rating

 

Ian from Perth, 10 October, 2007

Love it! Was so sick of paying late fees on videos I never got to watch from the store. I haven't tried Bigpond and never will.

Value: Value Rating Design: Design Rating Service: Service Rating

 

Cameron from Adelaide, 9 September, 2007

I've found, after subscribing to other online DVD rental services, that Quickflix easily surpasses the others in terms of range, disc integrity, and quality of site design. An ideal service for renting the more obscure TV shows etc that are much harder to locate (if at all)from a bricks & mortar video store.

Value: Value Rating Design: Design Rating Service: Service Rating

 

Rachel from Perth , 7 September, 2007

I was initially sceptical about signing up as I am not a mad movie buff and I was'nt sure if I would get the use out of it. However I'm nearly turning into a movie buff! The process works really well, I normally spend ages standing in the video store trying to work out what to take out, however its really easy to find and queue the movies you want. DVD's always delivered quickly, I could'nt be happier.

Value: Value Rating Design: Design Rating Service: Service Rating

 

Dianne from Melbourne, 5 July, 2007

Eveything great except the quality of the DVD1s. At least every second DVD I've gotton is scratched and freezes throughout which makes watching a movie an unbearable experience

Value: Value Rating Design: Design Rating Service: Service Rating

 

Phil from Perth, 2 July, 2007

Excellent option against going to a shop. I'm on the 3unlimited 3 deal and I am never without a movie to watch, I like the reply paid envelope. Love the no late fee rule and the choices are staggering.

Value: Value Rating Design: Design Rating Service: Service Rating

 

Sandy from Perth, 2 July, 2007

Would never recomend..dvds sent out of order in a series after complaining they said just choose 1 or 2 in a series they still sent the dvds out of order..I would like to see dis 1 first instead they would sent 3 or 6..Complained 4 times but didn't help..webflicks is much better..

Value: Value Rating Design: Design Rating Service: Service Rating

 

Nick from Melbourne, May 22, 2007

i like checking out the member reviews. some members watched some great movies-- so good way to figure out what to watch. Quickflix also recommends me movies which is good

Value: Value Rating Design: Design Rating Service: Service Rating

 

Lester from Brisbane, May 2, 2007

keep up the good work guys--- can't imagine spending anymore of my life at the vid store. Quickflix is cool-- i get a buzz when another DVD arrives in the mail. its the way to go

Value: Value Rating Design: Design Rating Service: Service Rating

 

Sarah, May 1, 2007

I switched to Quickflix 4 weeks ago. The service is defintely superior compared to Telstra with more movies and very friendly customer care people.

Value: Value Rating Design: Design Rating Service: Service Rating

 

Jane, April 9, 2007

I am currently using the $36.93 unlimited plan. It's great, come the weekend, we've always got 2 or 3 films to watch. The website is very easy to use with great recommendations.

Value: Value Rating Design: Design Rating Service: Service Rating

 

Kim from Sydney, March 22 , 2007

Quickflix offers a great service. I love receiving my dvds in the
mail and saving on petrol! Customer service was very professional. Highly
recommended.

Value: Value Rating Design: Design Rating Service: Service Rating

 

Caroline from Melbourne, March 21 , 2007

I have been with them for over a year now and I'm happy with their service. I've got my list of movies and it's always a nice surprise to find a movie in my letterbox when I get home. I am a big fan of the concept and recommend it to everyone!

Value: Value Rating Design: Design Rating Service: Service Rating

 

Kate from Adelaide , February 28 , 2007

I like quickflix because of the range. They have all the classic movies that I love and a lot of dramas, plus customer care is nice and friendly.

Value: Value Rating Design: Design Rating Service: Service Rating

 

Kim, February 26 , 2007

I've been a member of Quickflix for over two years (shortly after when they commenced). I since watched over 700 movies through the service. In the last six months I've noticed a lot of changes including improved packaging--i rarely get a DVD that doesn't work. I couldn't imagine going back to relying on the video store.

Value: Value Rating Design: Design Rating Service: Service Rating

 

Harrison from Sydney, February 24 , 2007

I use Quickflix and I think its great (i've also tried BigPond which isn't bad but their rotation of DVDs seem slow and customer service...well that's another story). Things i like about Quickflix are: big range; their recommendation of titles for me to watch; their cool packaging...and stuf like the movie review newsletter.

Value: Value Rating Design: Design Rating Service: Service Rating

 

Clarinta from Melbourne, July 30, 2006

I was really impressed with the quality of the products! The DVDs are delivered in great condition and the packaging is good as well. Their website is very easy to use, and I like the fact that they email me promptly as soon as they have received their DVDs back. Delivery time for mine was 2 working days.

Value: Value Rating Design: Design Rating Service: Service Rating

 

Fitzy, July 26, 2006

Pretty bad on most counts. DVD's are always late, series arrive out of order, DVD's are often scratched and I rarely get my top selections.
The customer service was unhelpful. A whinge didn't appear to make things better. I'm back at my local store and will be staying there.

Value: Value Rating Design: Design Rating Service: Service Rating

 

Sheryl from Adelaide , July 07, 2006

I have received 4 damaged DVD's in a period of 3 months - they freeze and skip scenes and are very scratched and the replacements were in no better condition.

If this was improved along with the availability of my top selections - some I have been waiting for for 3 months - the company would rank no. 1 in Australia

Value: Value Rating Design: Design Rating Service: Service Rating

 

Knots from Brisbane , May 06, 2006

Almost every DVD is scratched and/or greasy - jumps scenes or just freezes. Turnaround time is ok. But even the replacement DVD's are in bad condition.

Value: Value Rating Design: Design Rating Service: Service Rating

 

CG , May 6, 2006

Turnaround time is ok. But almost every DVD we receive is scratched or greasy, so that in the middle of the movie it's skipping scenes or it just freezes. Even the replacement DVD's were in no better conditions. It would be great if the DVD maintenance would improve a lot.

Value: Value Rating Design: Design Rating Service: Service Rating

 

EKD from Sydney , January 31, 2006

I had a problem with my computer freezing before I could finalize my membership, and so didn't even know that I had activated a membership!
They were incredibly helpful in returning my money, without any pressure to join up, and I had a refund within days.

Value: Value Rating Design: Design Rating Service: Service Rating

 

Anon, January 28, 2006

I signed up for the trial, but only got 3 discs, even though I only kept them for a day, as opposed to bigpond that sent me 15 discs in the same time.

Value: Value Rating Design: Design Rating Service: Service Rating

 

Kelli from the Adelaide, January 12, 2006

I've now had Quickflix for nearly a month, but have only received 4 DVDs, despite having an unlimited option. My number one movie has been the same since I signed up, and I still have not received it. It's an older movie (Gone With The Wind) so I doubt there are high demands for it, which makes me think that they don't even have it. My latest DVD was put in the return post Sunday night, and it's now Friday afternoon, and still no new DVD, which means I'll have to wait until at least Monday to get my next pick. No movie for the weekend.

Value: Value Rating Design: Design Rating Service: Service Rating

 

Kylie from the Coast, January 2, 2006

Experienced good customer service when I phoned.
Easy movie search feature but I rarely find any movies I like using the browse feature. Maybe its just me, but I prefer competitor's browsing features.

Value: Value Rating Design: Design Rating Service: Service Rating

 

Ian from Melbourne, November 2, 2005

We are really impressed by the way the whole system flows. Once you get into the click and return routine (you just tell them you have posted the DVD via the website and another is sent to you - the DVDs virtually pass each other in the mail!) this ensures that we always movies ready to view.

Value: Value Rating Design: Design Rating Service: Service Rating

 

Richie from Melbourne, November 2, 2005

No problems so far - turnaround time is average, love the website design and will probably stay long term with these guys.

Value: Value Rating Design: Design Rating Service: Service Rating

 

Carla from Sydney, October 27, 2005

This is the best company I've tried. I did have a problem with a DVD which never arrived, but they sorted it out quickly and I've no complaints. I especially like the wide range of plans, so I can adjust my dvd output down for busy spells at work.

The DVDs generally reach me in 1-2 days but I think they have a local warehouse.

Value: Value Rating Design: Design Rating Service: Service Rating

 

Visit Quickflix Site

 

 

Return to Quickflix Review Page

 

Add Your Comments on Quickflix DVD Rental

 

You: (ie, John from Sydney)
Email address: (won't be kept, but required to deter spammers)

Please rate Quickflix on the following criteria:

Value? Design? Customer Service?

Your Review:

By submitting you agree to our Policies on visitor comments

 

Personalised Greeting Cards from Moonpig.com.au

Personalised Greeting Cards from Moonpig.com.au

Personalised Greeting Cards from Moonpig.com.au

123 Ink Jets

Personalised Greeting Cards from Moonpig.com.au

Best Deal

Personalised Greeting Cards from Moonpig.com.au

The views and opinions expressed on the site are our own, and we have not been given free subscriptions, products, or other compensation to publish them. Many of the reviewed companies offer affiliate commissions, but these do not influence our reviews or rankings, which we keep open and unbiased. Our recommendations are made on the merits of a product or service, as we review based on our experience, education, and background. At our discretion we may accept third-party advertising, but this does not constitute our endorsement.

Copyright 2005-12 © Australia-DVD-Rental-Guide.com. All Rights Reserved